New city council sworn in

Mickey Dumont/The Portage Citizen



Following the invocation and prayer from Elder Darryl Taylor, Judge Wanda Garreck conducted the swearing-in of Mayor Irvine Ferris and presented him with the Chain of Office during the Oct. 29 inaugural meeting for the newly elected Portage la Prairie city council.

The inaugural meeting — the first formal meeting for the newly elected Portage la Prairie city council — saw all elected officials sworn in and the public learn what portfolios the mayor has assigned to them.

Councillor Brent Budz was again appointed Deputy Mayor from Oct. 29, 2018, to the next organizational meeting of council.

Acting Deputy Mayor from Oct. 29, 2018, to the next organizational meeting of council works in a rotation with Coun. Melissa Draycott responsible for the post from Nov. – Dec. 2018; Coun. Ryan Espey, Jan. – Feb. 2019: Coun. Sharilyn Knox, March – April 2019;
Coun. Preston Meier, May – June 2019; Coun. Wayne Wall, July – Aug. 2019 and Coun. Melissa Draycott again from Sept. – Oct. 2019.

Mayor Ferris conducted the swearing-in of Youth Member of Council, Arishya Aggarwal.

Appointment of Standing Committees 
Councillors Budz and Espey were named to the Finance, Legislative and Property, Councillors Meier and Budz to City Planning and Economic Development; Councillors Draycott and Knox to Community Services; Councillors Wall and Draycott to Waterworks; Councillors Espey and Meier to Transportation and Councillors Knox and Wall to Public Safety.

Appointment of Members to the PRRA, Planning District, PRED, and Regional Landfill Authority 
Portage la Prairie Planning District Board: Councillors Budz and Espey and Mayor Ferris.
Portage Regional Recreation Authority: Councillors Budz and Espey and Mayor Ferris
Regional Landfill Authority: Councillors Wall, Knox, and Meier.
Portage Regional Economic Development: Councillors Budz, Draycott, and Meier.

Appointment of Special Committees 
The following appointments to special committees were approved:
Mayor and Council to the Budget Committee, City Manager’s Evaluation, Tax Sharing committee and the Emergency Control Group.
Board of Revision: mayor and council, Chair of Board of Revision, Secretary of the Board of Revision and Manager of Administration.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login