Report leaves Portage provincial electoral boundary unchanged

The Electoral Division Boundaries Commission (EDBC) today released its final report regarding electoral boundary changes outlining how and why 56 of the 57 provincial electoral divisions boundaries have been adjusted. Portage is the sole electoral division to remain unchanged.

The EDBC was established in January, 2018 to review all provincial electoral division boundaries as required under The Electoral Divisions Act every 10 years.

The Portage provincial electoral boundary will not change for the coming 2020 provincial election and at least not until a future boundary review expected in 2028 finds cause for change.

The report shows Portage electoral boundary population at 21,755 or minus three per cent (-3 per cent) based on 2016 Statistics Canada Census.

See full report here:

The act requires the commission to base its review on the Statistics Canada 2016 census population for Manitoba. This total (1,278,365) is divided by the number of the provincial electoral divisions in the province (57), establishing a quotient for each electoral division (Approximately 22,427 people per electoral division).

The EDBC found census data showed that the population growth across the province varied. While the population of the north was growing, it was not growing as quickly as in large parts of southern Manitoba. In the Swan River, Dauphin and Riding Mountain areas of the province, there was a population drop. The census data also showed important population growth mostly in the urban areas of the province, specifically in the Brandon, Morden, Winkler, Steinbeck and Winnipeg regions. Given that Winnipeg constitutes over 55 per cent of the population of the province, the absolute increase of population in Winnipeg will necessarily considerably exceed the netpopulation growth of any electoral division outside Winnipeg.

While the absolute numbers were higher in Winnipeg, it is acknowledged that some cities and towns had higher growth rates. The commission adjusted electoral boundaries in the central area of the province to reflect growth in Morden, Winkler and in the area immediately southwest of Winnipeg. The geographic size of Morden Winkler electoral division was reduced to accommodate the increasing populations in these communities.

The new boundaries will come into effect for the first provincial general election held after December 31, 2018. Any byelection held before the general election will be based on the existing 2008 boundaries.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login